Veuillez orienter votre appareil en mode portrait

Veuillez orienter votre appareil en mode portrait

Mies van der Rohe Award 2013

In this way, the Award draws attention to the major contribution
by European professionals to the development of new ideas and
technologies. At the same time, it offers both individuals and public
institutions an opportunity to reach a clearer understanding of the
cultural role of architecture in the construction of our cities.
Furthermore, the Award sets out to foster architecture in two
significant ways: by stimulating greater circulation of professional
architects throughout the entire European Union in response to
transnational commissions and by supporting young architects as
they set off on their careers.

Candidates for the Award are put forward by a broad group of
independent experts from all over Europe, as well as from the
architects' associations that form part of the European Council
of Architects and other European national architects' associations.

At each two-yearly edition, the jury selects two works: one that
receives the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture
in recognition of its conceptual, technical and constructional qualities,
and the other that receives the Emerging Architect Special Mention. 

The jury also selects a set of finalist works to be included in both the
Award catalogue and exhibition